My ultimate Collection

10 Posts
8 Users
28 Likes
Stangfreak
(@stangfreak)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I have been collecting diecast and plastic model builds for over 60 years now. I have acquired over 13,000 cars of various scales.
I still have my entire Lesney/Matchbox collection from the 50s and the 60s, by a total absolute freak discovery.

Back in the late 50s my grandma began buying these little rides for me to keep at her house to play with when I came to stay with her.
She kept buying and buying until the early 70s. That's when I got my license and first Mustang, so the visits slaked off a bit. For a little over 20 years my collection had been forgotten about. She passed in early 1975 and my grandpa lived there until late 1995 when he remarried. He ask me to help get the old house in shape to sell, which I did. I spent over a week in the basement alone, cleaning, painting and hauling off unwanted goods. On my last inspection I noticed a piece of dark green plastic sticking out from the riser of the bottom step. The steps were enclosed with thin paneling with a door at the highest point. Granny stored her Christmas decorations under there forever. I thought I had everything emptied from that storage area, so I decided to crawl back under the lower stairs and get that plastic out. To my shocking surprise it was a big box with all my Matchbox collection neatly firmly, and well packed and covered with a construction size green plastic garbage bag. All in the condition I left them in 20-25 years earlier, when my grandma packed them away. I had almost left it for the new homeowners to find. I was totally shocked and overwhelmed. This is what got me back into collecting and been going strong ever since. I have added a few here and there, but here's what I have photographed so far...

I call it"My Ultimate Collection"

2 cases of the Models of Yesteryear also...

Thank you Grandma and may you always rest in heavenly peace... Love Kiss Inlove