Cruise to the holiday weekend with this new arrival!

This is the 1961 Cadillac Eldorado Biarritz Open top Jade Metallic in 1:43 scale by Stamp Models.

Order yours today! 👇

https://bit.ly/3OMNnVO

From My Collection ...

Notifications
Clear all

From My Collection 1/43... Saturday 5/21/22

John Merritt
(@jcarnutz)
Famed Member
Topic starter  

First, a little story.

I have been collecting model cars since I was five years old. It all started with Matchbox Cars and continued for many years with those and other 1:64 scale cars & trucks. Also, during this time, I did pick up a few 1:43 scale cars, all very inexpensive and mostly given to me by others as gifts. In late 1989 I saw an ad for a 1963 Corvette by a company called Franklin Mint. It was just to intriguing to pass up, so I bought it. That opened a door to many more 1:24 scale cars. I also discovered Danbury Mint and even better, D4C in late 1998 or early 1999. These discoveries introduced me to a whole new world that I wasn't aware of. I was off and having loads of fun with all that was offered in model cars. Along the way, I purchased 36 Franklin Mint 1:43 scale models but other than that, this scale just was a just passing glance from time to time.

Now if you know the story, FM & DM were coming to an end and by 2014, they had ceased production of diecast models altogether. What is a guy with a severe diecast-disease supposed to do? I had already started dabbling into 1:18 scale models, and while they were nice, they were just so big. I continued with them for a couple of years starting in 2010, but by 2014, they were getting too hard to find space.