COFFEE TALK #43

38 Posts
14 Users
126 Likes
George Schire
(@georgeschire)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

From the THINGS I'LL NEVER UNDERSTAND department...

With the weather slowly getting nicer here in Minnesota, after my morning coffee and toast, I'm excited get out for my walk.  I have a 4.1 mile route that allows me to enjoy the sun coming up, birds tweeting, and the fresh smell of a new day. 

I've been doing this same walk for over 25 years and have always wondered why people don't put their cars in their garages.  Looking up the definition of "garage", I read that it's, "a building or place for sheltering, cleaning, or repairing motor vehicles".  All of the homes in my neighborhood have double or triple car garages, and yet I will see two, three, and sometimes more cars in the driveways. 

My immediate neighbor next door has a double car garage and has never used it for his cars.  He has everything in that garage, but cars...and of course with that "everything" in it, there is no room for his cars.  This seems to be the same situation for most of the many others that I see around the neighborhood.  And I'm sorry, but this is strange to me.  Mainly because in Minnesota we have ugly winters that are cold, icy, and snowy, and having a garage to shelter our cars is a blessing, especially in the winter.  But more people in my neighborhood don't put their cars in their garages than those that do.  Me personally, my car is never parked in the driveway.